Fathers Day!

Surprise Surprise I’m reviewing the holiday that has just passed. Well. I’m typing this on Father Day itself as I can’t spend the day with my little boy 😦

Fathers Day is (in my opinion) another Hallmark holiday invented by big corporations to get people to go out and buy there product. Spending anywhere between 10 Pounds to 50 Pounds I would say is pretty average. But once again these companies are saying to buy your father a brang new 50″ LCD HD Ready TV for Fathers Day. The thing that annoys me the most about these adverts, is the fact that the following slogan is always said “Show your dad how much you love him this Fathers Day with this… enter ridiculously expensive item that you would never buy them here”. I don’t think I have ever or will ever buy my dad a Lawn Mower, or a new BBQ. I’m happy to get him a toolbox, a crate of his favorate beer or maybe something to do with his latest hobbie and I know that he would love it, BECAUSE IT’S A PERSONAL GIFT.
image

Before anybody says anything. Yes I feel the same regardig Mothers Day, Valentines Day, Birthdays, Easter and Yes, even Christmas. Why do you need a special occasion to show/tell somebody you love them? If year round you aren’t letting your loved ones know that they are in fact your loved ones your doing something wrong. I’m not saying buy them jewellery randomly (but if like doing that and can afford it, good on you) I mean if your in the shop why not grab your boyfriend/girlfriend/wife or whoever there favorate chocolate bar, or their favorite meal for tea. You don’t even need to spend money. The other week I messaged my sister asking if she wanted to hang out as nether of us where doing anything. I grabbed a DVD and went round (yes I got wine also but that wasn’t nessecery).

Think about it, when did someone randomly come home and give you something that you love? Not very recently I bet. But when it did happen, didn’t it feel great? I do also think their are good aspects to Fathers Day, like the way it brings the family together. We had a BBQ to celebrate the day and my grandparents came round, so did my sister that moved out so the entire family was together and we all ended up having a good time. When I went for a walk that morning it was amazing weather, when I walked past the graveyard it was full of people visiting their fathers or grandfathers. I think that is a lovely thing to do, take time out of your busy schedule to go spend some time with the ones in your life who aren’t around anymore.

image

Thanks for reading guys. Hope you enjoyed ☺

 

Leave a Reply

