Hardcore Henry!

For my first review in a while it’s just going to be a quick one for Movie Monday on what I have to call the best action film I have seen in a long time.

matrix-goo
Neo waking from the goo

The film opens up with somebody in goo not far from the Matrix scene where Neo wakes up, see left. The main difference for Hardcore Henry is that somebody else wakes him up (and he isn’t one of millions in the goo). After the guy comes to we find out his identity to be the future badass Henry.

 

Henry has been in some accident or something so he’s missing his left arm from the elbow down, his leg from the knee down and his face is messed up (we don’t get to see this) so he gets some robotic limbs as a replacement (these are attached by a medical scientist who HARDCORE HENRYturns out to be his wife). These limbs are so cool I’d happily remove my arm to get one. After a bit of calibration he can use his limbs as normal and they even put skin on top of them to blend in with the rest of humanity.

Although Hardcore Henry came out in 2015 therefore allowing me to drop as many spoilers as I wish, it is that awesome I will stay humble as to what I say and therefore I’ll miss out big parts. Part of the appeal of this film to me is that it’s kinda like a first person shooter in the fact you never see Henry’s face. You always see what he’s looking at. The way they did this is by mounting cameras to the head/face of Andrei Dementiev and having him run around with this contraption on his face.

camera

“But what is the point of the film?” I hear you shouting. Relax, I’m getting to it.

If you look on IMDB the storyline is “Henry is resurrected from death with no memory, and he must save his wife from a telekinetic warlord with a plan to bio-engineer soldiers.” There. Now you know 😉 Henry is fighting to save his loved one, the same as many, many other action films. Taken, Taken 2, Taken 3, The Island (fighting for himself and his loved one) The Hills Have Eyes and Hostel just to name a few.

Without a doubt you should see this film and tell me what you think.

Thanks for reading and good-bye 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

